Ubuntu, GNOME and OPW.

It seems hard to believe but this last OPW months flew like the wind.

My first thought is a HUGE THANKS to all the women which work behind this project, first of all Karen and Marina.

I have been lucky, and I have had the opportunity to work with Karen, who mentored me (and Sriram too, of course!) and this has been an excellent chance to prove myself in an very international environment with people of great competency, and everybody knows competency is the first quality of an outstanding ledership.

This round of OPW is closed, but another one is approaching: another opportunity for new lady rock stars to full try out their competences, in coding, marketing, design and so on

Next round will be held in june/september 2013 and submission deadline is on May 1st: complete details of next round are available here: OutreachProgramForWomen.

This program is an unique opportunity to work with awesome women in every part of the world… why don’t you take a look and have your try?

My only regret in these three months has been that I haven’t met any women coming from Ubuntu.

Participating organizations come from very different FOSS projects, from KDE and from GNOME, from Debian, Mozilla, Wikimedia, just to remember the more famous, but it’s very sad to me to realize that Ubuntu isn’t involved at all, as project and as people.

As a Ubuntu Women co-leader I really hope that my experience will serve. I found a great effort from everybody to make me feel comfortable albeit I’m not an English native speaker and I was really much more tied to Ubuntu than Fedora or GNOME communities.

I’ll be enlightened if this could encourage the build of bridges between Ubuntu Women and OPW, and, why not, be the first step to consider GNOME people as a counterpart again.

I believe every woman in FOSS really rocks, and I really hope all women will find a way to walk together again :)

3 thoughts on “Ubuntu, GNOME and OPW.

Leave a Reply

